What Are We Buying!? (Part I of III)

The Swimsuit, the Swoosh, and the D.I.Y.

‘Tis the season to be fit! Bright colors are beginning to bloom, the sun is shining (everywhere except Boston), and people are in more of a craze now than ever before to get in “summer shape” for the bathing suit and vacation season.

If you need a little extra motivation, watch this awesome video to “Make It Count”!

I am definitely a part of that craze. Over the last few months I have started to eat healthier, become more physically active (understatement), have surrounded myself with like-minded groups of people who love it as much as I do, and could not be any happier with my results both physically and mentally.

*#JustDoIt*

To help with motivation, I signed myself up for a brisk five-mile race a while back…no biggie, right!? Now, with my Harpoon 5-Miler race fast approaching (11 days to go…yikes), I’m quickly realizing what matters most and what is needed when preparing for such adventures. Among the many necessities, your shoes may be the single most important thing. Knowing the importance, a good friend of mine referred me to NikeiD and the Nike Free. Needless to say, after several alterations of every color scheme and fit on the planet (at least it seemed that way), I finally landed on a gem!

Unfortunately, the chances of them arriving before race-day are slim-to-none since I ordered them…30 minutes ago, but I will be able to enjoy them for the majority of the summer and beyond.

Being able to customize my purchase was actually an awesome experience. I felt as if I was down and dirty in their supply chain painting the sole, gluing the logos, painting the finishing touches, and shipping it off to the customer-ME! I want this for all of my purchases. I would like to take my goals, preferences, and needs and create a product to fit those for everything!

Today, there are many “do it yourself” (D.I.Y.) options given in a plethora of different categories, and we love them all. From Happy Meals (App Store) to automobiles (gold), from websites to mattresses (Shaq) and storage arrays (VNX), our customizable options are endless and there for the choosing.

Would you rather have the one-size-fits-all, or would you like to customize your purchases? Does that depend on what you’re purchasing (think about it before quickly responding)? Do you want to pay for things that you may never use?

As ridiculous as some of these questions may sound, and as obvious as the answers may seem, it continues to shock me when manufacturers force feed us features and functionality that we simply do not want or need.

I may or may not have recently had a discussion with another large manufacturer around this very topic earlier this afternoon around lunch time in a particularly public community that is focused on a particular industry, and their response to this discussion may shock you (it definitely shocked me)…

To be continued…

One thought on “What Are We Buying!? (Part I of III)

Leave a Reply

